A little music, and soon a section on Colombian books.


City of Popayán Colombia, Puracé volcano at th...

City of Popayán Colombia, Puracé volcano at the background (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have posted a few songs from El Baño a music festival in Popayán, Colombia. I had the good fortune to be associated with this festival and its founder Juan Felipe Arbeláez a few years back. As I become more comfortable with WordPress music player, I shall add some more songs from my Colombian travels along with a bit of information. Learning, like most things, goes better with music.As always, suggestions are welcome.

(I realize it´s quite irritating that the music player shuts off when you change pages. I am working on that.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Connecting Colombias

Recently retired newspaper reporter with one foot in British Columbia, Canada, the other in Colombia, South America. Fascinated with Colombian culture, Canadian connections, and heroic efforts to return millions of displaced Colombians to lands stolen by paramilitaries, guerrillas and organized crime.

4 responses to “A little music, and soon a section on Colombian books.”

  1. colombiadiaries says :

    I like the music you’ve posted and I look forward to hearing more in the future.

    • Connection Colombia says :

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. The music is something special for me, especially the songs by Alvaro Moya, a Colombian man who never took a musical lesson, never learned to read music and is carrying scores of tunes around in his head. I hope to have a story and photo about him soon. I have had a little time to look at your site at: colombiadiaries.wordpress.com
      It looks great and will comment further there.

  2. lili campo says :

    fue mágico escuchar los sonidos mágicos de los instrumentos de los andes.. esos que por siglos has servido para recordar lo que fuimos y lo que somos.
    Escuché esas melodías en el teatro municipal y luego en las lejanas tierras canadienses mientyras se subían a este también mágico bus de la avirtualidad y ahora aquí , desde la medio penumbra de mi habitación.
    Solo puedo decir que esto es lo que nos mantiene vivos y que cada nota musical interpretada por mi gente en cualquier ritmo, me recuerda también que estamos vivos y que Colombia tiene mucho más que muerte y guera.

  3. lili campo says :

    It was magical to hear the magical sounds of the instruments of the Andes .. those who for centuries have served to remember what we were and what we are.
    I heard these melodies in the theater district and then in the far Canadian as they climbed to this, also magical, avirtualidad bus and now here, from the middle darkness of my room.
    I can only say that this is what keeps us alive and that each musical note played by my people at any rate, I also remember that we are alive and that Colombia has more to death and war. (This is a comment from a Colombian trying say in English what I think =)

Leave a Reply

